Search
Close this search box.
Search
Close this search box.
Lecture with Dr. Benjamin L. Schmitt

An Energiewende Without National Security Won’t Be “Just”

Dr. Benjamin L. Schmitt

IKEM is happy to welcome Dr. Benjamin L. Schmitt for a lecture on the leading national security objectives that will be necessary to maintain popular public support for a “just transition” towards a decarbonized energy system. Dr. Schmitt is a senior fellow at the University of Pennsylvania and an expert on European energy security, transatlantic national security, export control policies, and modern sanctions regimes.

Abstract

As the global community continues to grapple with the measures that are needed to address the ongoing climate crisis, the concept of a “just transition” has become a key driver for policy planning in terms of balancing the social costs and technical realities of the shift toward a decarbonized the global economy.  The “just transition” construct is often focused on the need to implement climate mitigation efforts that ensure climate justice so that the burdens, effects, and costs are not disproportionately harming vulnerable populations around the globe, and that occupational and economic opportunities associated with the transition are shared equitably between leading economies and the developing world.

Conspicuously missing from much of the focus on a “just transition” is the recognition of macro-level national security and human rights realities that can’t be ignored simply to achieve global climate objectives.  Changing our view and integrating national security and counter-corruption strategies into the climate justice framework will be vital to ensure that the German Energiewende doesn’t repeat mistakes of the past, endangering European energy and national security via the pursuit of authoritarian-backed energy and critical infrastructure projects like the Nord Stream pipelines, which were never “Just a Commercial Deal” for European security.

This event is organized in cooperation with the journal “Klima und Recht” and the Interdisciplinary Centre for Baltic Sea Region Research (IFZO) at the University of Greifswald. 

Klima und Recht (KlimR) Logo
IFZO Logo

Contact

Prof Dr Michael RodiQuelle: IKEM/Jule Halsinger

Press contact

Dennis Nill

Dennis Nill

dennis.nill@ikem.de
+49 (0)30 / 408 1870 17

IKEM – Institute for Climate Protection, Energy and Mobility e.V.

Suche
Close this search box.
Suche
Close this search box.
Vortrag von Dr. Benjamin L. Schmitt

An Energiewende Without National Security Won’t Be “Just”

Dr. Benjamin L. Schmitt

Das IKEM freut sich, Dr. Benjamin L. Schmitt für einen Gastvortrag begrüßen zu dürfen. Der Vortrag in englischer Sprache befasst sich mit der Frage, wie nationale Sicherheitspolitik aussehen muss, um die öffentliche Akzeptanz für eine „gerechte“ Energiewende zu bewahren. Dr. Schmitt ist Senior Fellow an der University of Pennsylvania und Experte für europäische Energiesicherheit, transatlantische Sicherheitsfragen, Exportkontrollpolitik und moderne Sanktionsregelungen.

Abstract

Im Zuge der globalen Anstrengungen zur Bewältigung der Klimakrise hat sich das Konzept der „Just Transition“ (gerechter Wandel) zu einer wichtigen Strategie der Politikgestaltung entwickelt. Im Kern geht es darum, einen Ausgleich zwischen den sozialen Kosten und den technischen Realitäten des Wandels hin zu einer dekarbonisierten Weltwirtschaft zu finden. Als Teil der „Just Transition“ soll zudem auf Klimagerechtigkeit hingearbeitet werden, damit die mit der Transformation verbundenen Lasten und Kosten nicht überproportional von den benachteiligen Bevölkerungsgruppen rund um den Globus getragen werden und damit die wirtschaftlichen Chancen gerecht zwischen den führenden Volkswirtschaften und den Entwicklungsländern verteilt werden.

Der Fokus auf die „Just Transition“ blendet dabei auffallend oft Fragen der nationalen Sicherheit und der Menschenrechte aus. Diese können jedoch auf dem Weg zur Erreichung der globalen Klimaziele nicht einfach ignoriert werden. Vielmehr muss die Energiepolitk um Strategien zur Sicherung der nationalen Sicherheit sowie um Strategien gegen Korruption erweitert werden. Sie können dazu beitragen, dass sich die Fehler der Vergangenheit – etwa die Unterstützung für kritische Infrastruktur- und Energieprojekte wie die Nord Stream-Pipeline – nicht wiederholen. Diese Projekte waren nie nur ein Handelsgeschäft, sondern eine Bedrohung für die europäische Sicherheit.

Die Veranstaltung wird in Kooperation mit der Zeitschrift „Klima und Recht“ und dem Interdisziplinären Zentrum für Ostseeraumforschung (IFZO) an der Universität Greifswald durchgeführt.

Klima und Recht (KlimR) Logo
IFZO Logo

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. Michael RodiQuelle: IKEM/Jule Halsinger

Ansprechpartner:in für Presseanfragen

Dennis Nill

Dennis Nill

dennis.nill@ikem.de
+49 (0)30 / 408 1870 17

IKEM – Institut für Klimaschutz, Energie und Mobilität e.V.