Search
Close this search box.
Search
Close this search box.

IKEM at COP

We contribute our expertise and our proposals for ambitious climate protection to the annual global climate negotiations.
Conclusion of COP28

Every COP is a crucial moment in the fight for our planet and a sustainable future. The latest scientific findings, in particular the most recent IPCC reports, continually underline the urgent need for action in the area of climate protection.

As a recognised NGO at the United Nations, IKEM has been actively involved in the COP for many years. The Institute is usually represented on site with a small delegation and organises side events on current research topics. The IKEM scientists accompany the negotiations, take part in briefings and participate in side events, exchange views with international experts and contribute their proposals for ambitious climate protection.

Contact person

COP29

2024 | COP29 | Azerbaijan

Topic

Description

Looking back at previous COPs

2023 | COP28 | Dubai, United Arab Emirates

Transformation of Ukraine

Almost eight years after the Paris Agreement, COP28 – including the recently concluded first Global Stocktake – focused on the implementation and improvement of commitments already made.

Building on the initial research results of the Europe-Ukraine Energy Transition Hub (EUETH), IKEM’s activities at COP28 focused on strategies for the reconstruction and transformation of Ukraine’s energy sector

2022 | COP27 | Sharm El-Sheikh, Egypt

Dealing with climate-related legal disputes

In November 2022, government representatives from almost 200 countries came together in Sharm El-Sheikh, Egypt, to negotiate the further development of international climate agreements and concrete measures to limit climate change. The negotiations focused on dealing with damages and losses caused by climate change, for which a new mechanism for financial compensation was created at COP27.

IKEM focused on climate law and devoted COP27 to the increasing importance of climate litigation and arbitration in the resolution of climate-related disputes.

2021 | COP26 | Glasgow, United Kingdom

Article 6 / Sustainable cities

One of the most important topics at COP26 in Glasgow was probably the negotiations on the implementation of Article 6 of the Paris Climate Agreement – the last part of the “Paris Rulebook” that has not yet been finalized, which deals with the creation of a global CO₂ certificate trade.

IKEM was represented with several of its own events in Glasgow. The focus was on the questions of how market designs can contribute to achieving climate neutrality and what framework conditions are required for sustainable urban planning.

2019 | COP25 | Madrid, Spain

CO₂ pricing

The key topic of COP25 was the finalization of the supplementary regulations to the Paris Agreement – in particular rules on Article 6, which were left out of the previous negotiations.

IKEM was represented with a side event on CO₂ pricing in Madrid. Experts from different continents discussed their experiences and strategies for national and supranational governance. IKEM was also involved in a workshop on climate finance.

2018 | COP24 | Katowice, Poland

Climate financing

One of the aims of COP24 was to define rights and obligations for the signatory states on the way to the 1.5° target. This also includes globally standardized or at least comparable methods for measuring greenhouse gases.

Several IKEM scientists took part in the climate conference in Katowice. The agenda included meetings with international delegations, side events – including on the topic of climate financing – and a panel discussion on climate-friendly urban districts.

2017 | COP23 | Bonn, Germany

energy transition

At COP23, the delegates discussed the implementation of the resolutions of the Paris Agreement and the next steps in climate protection. For example, the contracting parties agreed on the procedure for developing transparency rules and reporting obligations.

IKEM was also represented in Bonn: Director Prof. Dr. Michael Rodi was a speaker at the Kopernikus ENavi project’s side event on the energy transition. Aleksandra Novikova, PhD, supported the Armenian delegation in the negotiations.

Suche
Close this search box.
Suche
Close this search box.

Das IKEM bei der COP

Bei den jährlich stattfindenden Weltklimaverhandlungen bringen wir unsere Expertise und unsere Vorschläge für einen ambitionierten Klimaschutz ein.
Conclusion of COP28Quelle: UNclimatechange (CC BY-NC-SA 2.0)

Jede COP ist ein entscheidender Moment im Kampf für unseren Planeten und eine nachhaltige Zukunft. Die neuesten wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse, insbesondere die jüngsten Berichte des IPCC, unterstreichen fortwährend die dringende Notwendigkeit von Maßnahmen im Bereich des Klimaschutzes.

Als anerkannte NGO bei den Vereinten Nationen engagiert sich das IKEM seit vielen Jahren aktiv bei der COP. In der Regel ist das Institut mit einer kleinen Delegation vor Ort vertreten und organisiert Side-Events zu aktuellen Forschungsschwerpunkten. Die IKEM-Wissenschaftler:innen begleiten die Verhandlungen, nehmen an Briefings und Side-Events teil, tauschen sich mit internationalen Expert:innen aus und bringen so ihre Vorschläge für einen ambitionierten Klimaschutz ein.

Ansprechpartner

COP29

2024 | COP29 | Aserbaidschan

Thema

Beschreibung

Rückblick auf die bisherigen COPs

2023 | COP28 | Dubai, Vereinigte Arabische Emirate

Transformation der Ukraine

Fast acht Jahre nach dem Pariser Abkommen ging es bei der COP28 – unter anderem im Rahmen des gerade abgeschlossenen ersten Global Stocktakes – um die Umsetzung und Verbesserung bereits verabschiedeter Verpflichtungen.

Aufbauend auf den ersten Forschungsergebnissen des Europe-Ukraine Energy Transition Hubs (EUETH) standen Strategien zum Wiederaufbau und zur Transformation des ukrainischen Energiesektors im Mittelpunkt der IKEM-Aktivitäten bei der COP28.

2022 | COP27 | Sharm El-Sheikh, Ägypten

Umgang mit klimabezogenen Rechtsstreitigkeiten

Im November 2022 kamen Regierungsvertreter:innen aus knapp 200 Staaten im ägyptischen Sharm El-Sheikh zusammen, um über die weitere Ausgestaltung der internationalen Klimaverträge und konkrete Maßnahmen zur Begrenzung des Klimawandels zu verhandeln. Im Mittelpunkt der Verhandlungen stand der Umgang mit vom Klimawandel ausgelösten Schäden und Verlusten, für die bei COP27 ein neuer Mechanismus für finanziellen Ausgleich geschaffen wurde. 

Das IKEM legte seinen Schwerpunkt in diesem Jahr auf das Klimarecht und widmete sich bei der COP27 der zunehmenden Bedeutung von Klimaprozessen und Schiedsgerichtsbarkeit bei der Beilegung von klimabezogenen Streitigkeiten.

2021 | COP26 | Glasgow, Vereinigtes Königreich

Artikel 6 / Nachhaltige Städte

Zu den wohl wichtigsten Themen der COP26 in Glasgow gehörten die Verhandlungen über die Umsetzung von Artikel 6 des Pariser Klimaabkommens – dem letzten noch nicht fertig ausgehandelten Teils des „Paris Rulebook“ in dem es um die Schaffung eines globalen CO₂-Zertifikatehandels geht.

Das IKEM war mit mehreren eigenen Veranstaltungen in Glasgow vertreten. Im Mittelpunkt standen die Fragen, wie Marktdesigns zur Erreichung von Klimaneutralität beitragen können und welche Rahmenbedingungen für eine nachhaltige Stadtplanung erforderlich sind.

2019 | COP25 | Madrid, Spanien

CO₂-Bepreisung

Schlüsselthema der COP25 war die Fertigstellung des ergänzenden Regelwerks zum Übereinkommen von Paris – insbesondere Regeln zu Artikel 6, die bei den vorangegangenen Verhandlungen ausgeklammert wurden.

Das IKEM war mit einem Side-Event zur CO₂-Bepreisung in Madrid vertreten. Expert:innen aus verschiedenen Kontinenten diskutierten über ihre Erfahrungen und Strategien für nationale und supranationale Governance. Das IKEM war außerdem an einem Workshop zum Thema Klimafinanzierung beteiligt.

2018 | COP24 | Katowice, Polen

Kimafinanzierung

Die COP24 hatte unter anderem das Ziel, Rechte und Pflichten für die Vertragsstaaten auf dem Weg zum 1,5°-Ziel festzulegen. Dazu gehören auch global einheitliche oder zumindest vergleichbare Methoden für die Messung von Treibhausgasen.

Mehrere Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des IKEM nahmen an der Klimakonferenz in Katowice teil. Auf der Tagesordnung standen Gespräche mit internationalen Delegationen, Side-Events – u.a. zum Thema Klimafinanzierung – und eine Podiumsdiskussion zu klimafreundlichen Stadtquartieren.

2017 | COP23 | Bonn, Deutschland

Energiewende

Bei der COP23 diskutierten die Delegierten über die Umsetzung der Beschlüsse des Pariser Abkommens und die weiteren Schritte beim Klimaschutz. So einigten sich die Vertragsparteien etwa auf das Vorgehen bei der Erarbeitung von Transparenzregeln und Berichtspflichten.

Das IKEM war ebenfalls in Bonn vertreten: Direktor Prof. Dr. Michael Rodi war Redner beim Side-Event des Projekts Kopernikus ENavi zur Energiewende. Aleksandra Novikova, PhD, unterstützte die armenische Delegation bei den Verhandlungen.