Bahnstrom regenerativ

A large part of the traffic volume in rail transport is already powered by electrical energy. How can the necessary power supply be made as sustainable as possible?

Bahnstrom regenerativ

A large part of the traffic volume in rail transport is already powered by electrical energy. How can the necessary power supply be made as sustainable as possible?

Project

In order to achieve the federal government’s climate protection goals, energy saving and the use of renewable energies are the decisive levers. The transport sector is also an important component in which electrically powered transport (electric vehicles and trains) is increasingly coming into focus. A large part of the traffic volume in rail transport in particular is already powered by electrical energy. As the largest state-owned company, Deutsche Bahn AG is also the sector’s largest consumer of electricity with around 11 billion kilowatt hours per year. Serving this demand with renewable energies has a correspondingly great potential for sustainability improvements.

The IKEM participated in the research project “Analysis and concepts for increasing the proportion of regenerative energy in traction current” carried out by the Fraunhofer Institute for Wind Energy and Energy System Technology together with DB Energie GmbH (DB Netz) and the law firm Becker Büttner Held. The project was funded by the Federal Environment Ministry and worked on from January to October 2011.

The main objective of the study was to develop concepts for a technically and economically sensible integration of renewable energies into the energy supply of DB Energie, taking into account the complex supply situation and the special requirements of the railways. Initially, concepts to increase the share of renewable energies in traction current were developed and the legal framework presented in which they could be implemented in the further development of the applicable law. The concepts were then analyzed and evaluated in terms of technical and economic aspects and their likely future impact on DB Netze and the energy supply in the DB Group.

Bahnstrom regenerativ

Im Schienenverkehr wird bereits ein Großteil des Verkehrsaufkommens mit elektrischer Energie betrieben. Wie kann die notwendige Stromversorgung möglichst nachhaltig gestaltet werden?

Bahnstrom regenerativ

Im Schienenverkehr wird bereits ein Großteil des Verkehrsaufkommens mit elektrischer Energie betrieben. Wie kann die notwendige Stromversorgung möglichst nachhaltig gestaltet werden?

Projekt

Um die Klimaschutzziele der Bundesregierung zu erreichen, sind Energieeinsparung und der Einsatz Erneuerbaren Energien die entscheidenden Hebel. Auch der Verkehrsbereich ist hierbei ein wichtiger Baustein in dem der elektrisch angetriebene Transport (E-KFZ und Bahn) zunehmen in den Fokus kommt. Insbesondere im Schienenverkehr wird bereits ein Großteil des Verkehrsaufkommens mit elektrischer Energie betrieben. Als größtes bundeseigenes Unternehmen ist die Deutsche Bahn AG mit rund 11 Mrd. Kilowattstunden pro Jahr auch der größte Stromverbraucher in diesem Bereich. Die Bedienung dieser Nachfrage durch Erneuerbare Energien birgt ein entsprechend großes Potential für Nachhaltigkeitsantregungen.

Das IKEM beteiligte sich am vom Fraunhofer-Institut für Windenergie und Energiesystemtechnik zusammen mit DB Energie GmbH (DB Netz) und der Kanzlei Becker Büttner Held durchgeführten Forschungsprojekt „Analyse und Konzepte zur Erhöhung des Anteils der Regenerativen Energie des Bahnstroms“. Das Projekt wurde durch das Bundesumweltministerium gefördert und im Zeitraum von Januar bis Oktober 2011 bearbeitet.

Hauptziel der Studie war es, unter Berücksichtigung der komplexen Versorgungssituation und besonderen Anforderungen der Bahn, Konzepte für eine technisch und wirtschaftlich sinnvolle Integration der EE in die Energieversorgung der DB Energie zu entwickeln. Dabei wurden zunächst Konzepte zur Erhöhung des Anteils regenerativer Energien des Bahnstroms entwickelt und der juristische Rahmen dargestellt, in dem sie sich in Fortentwicklung des geltenden Rechts verwirklichen ließen. Anschließend wurden die Konzepte in technischer und wirtschaftlicher Hinsicht und in ihrer voraussichtlichen zukünftigen Wirkung auf die DB Netze und die Energieversorgung im DB Konzern analysiert und bewertet.