Dr Simon Schäfer-Stradowsky

Managing Director
 | Department
Simon Schäfer-Stradowsky

Contact

IKEM – Institute for Climate Protection,
Energy and Mobility e.V.

Dr Simon Schäfer-Stradowsky, born in 1982, is a native of Schornsdorf and holds a diploma in law from the University of Greifswald. He specialises in innovative energy and climate law and is the managing director of the Institute for Climate Protection, Energy and Mobility (IKEM). Since 2011, he has served on committees, delivered presentations and released numerous publications on the topic of climate change, serving as a form of translator between politics and law.

His main research includes support regimes for renewable energies, the transition to a more flexible electricity market and the establishment of a legal framework for green hydrogen and ammonia. In addition to this, he specialises in the new area of climate law on an international as well as national level.

Dr Schäfer-Stradowsky studied law at the Free University of Berlin and subsequently worked as a lawyer in the German Bundestag and as a lawyer, specialised in energy law, at the law firm Becker Büttner Held. In 2021, he completed his doctorate with a thesis on the law governing the heat transition in the building sector at the University of Greifswald, supervised by Prof Michael Rodi.

Dr Schäfer-Stradowsky is a lecturer at the Technical University of Berlin and a member of numerous committees and boards, including the advisory board of Regiogröön, VNG AG, Allianz Tech for Net Zero as well as the dena flagship study on climate neutrality and the dena market initiative on renewable energies.

Publications

Dr. Simon Schäfer-Stradowsky

Geschäftsführer
Simon Schäfer-Stradowsky

Kontakt

IKEM – Institut für Klimaschutz,
Energie und Mobilität e.V.

Dr. Simon Schäfer-Stradowsky, geboren 1982 in Schorndorf, ist Jurist und Geschäftsführer des Instituts für Klimaschutz, Energie und Mobilität (IKEM) sowie Experte für innovatives Energie- und Klimarecht. Mit Vorträgen, Publikationen und als Mitglied in zahlreichen Gremien engagiert er sich seit 2011 für den Klimaschutz und tritt dabei als Übersetzer zwischen Rechtswissenschaft und Politik auf.

Zu seinen Forschungsschwerpunkten zählt die Entwicklung eines neuen, von erneuerbaren Energien ausgehenden, Energierechts, das zentrale Lösungen mit zentralen Systemanforderungen verknüpft und auch den Energieimport der Zukunft, insbesondere über Wasserstoff, berücksichtigt. Ein weiterer Fokus ist das neue Gebiet des Klimarechts auf internationaler und nationaler Ebene.

Dr. Schäfer-Stradowsky studierte Rechtswissenschaft an der Freien Universität Berlin und war vor seiner Anstellung am IKEM als Jurist im Bundestag und als Rechtsanwalt, mit Schwerpunkt Energierecht, bei der Kanzlei Becker Büttner Held tätig. Er promovierte 2021 zum Recht der Wärmewende im Gebäudesektor an der Universität Greifswald bei Prof. Dr. Michael Rodi.

Dr. Schäfer-Stradowsky ist Dozent an der TH Köln und Mitglied in zahlreichen Ausschüssen und Gremien, unter anderem im Beirat der dena-Leitstudie Aufbruch Klimaneutralität, im dena-Beirat Marktoffensive Erneuerbare Energien, im Beirat von Regiogröön, der Allianz Tech for Net Zero und der VNG AG.

Publikationen