MORGEN

Peatland revitalization as an adaptation strategy for the City of Greifswald

Moor

Project

Um9ib3RvOnJlZ3VsYXI=
toolsetCommonEs.fontToHead()

Greifswald and Vorpommern, with their coastal location, will be affected by climate change on the one hand by increased summer dry periods and on the other hand by floods. In the district of Vorpommern-Greifswald there are 82,350 hectares of fenland, which are drained for use (and emit 17-38 tonnes of CO2 per hectare and year), which is about 30% of the agricultural area. The drainage system drains existing water from the landscape, especially in winter and spring, and thus intensifies the effects of dry events in summer.

The aim of the project is to reduce agricultural and urban vulnerability by rewetting drained peatlands and converting them to site-adapted use. Within the project, urban-rural relationships for the production of biomass in paludiculture and its utilisation (energetically: heat; materially: e.g. insulating materials) are to be established and strengthened. This will involve all stakeholders with influence on the use of peatlands and biomass exploitation.

For MORGEN, IKEM is preparing a legal study on current obstacles and options for further development in regulatory and planning law with regard to the implementation of climate adaptation and climate protection measures. The focus of the study lies in particular on the legal consideration of the interactions between private lease contract constellations and public planning law.

Publications

Contact

Judith Schäfer-GendrischQuelle: IKEM/Jule Halsinger

Legal study on current obstacles and options for further development in regulatory and planning law with regard to the implementation of climate adaptation and climate protection measures

Principal: Michael-Succow Stiftung

Project partner: Greifswald Moor Zentrum

Duration: 08/2018–05/2019

MORGEN

Moorrevitalisierung als Greifswalder Anpassungsstrategie gegen den Klimawandel

MORGEN

Moorrevitalisierung als Greifswalder Anpassungsstrategie gegen den Klimawandel

Projekt

Greifswald und Vorpommern werden mit ihrer Küstenlage durch den Klimawandel einerseits von vermehrten sommerlichen Trockenphasen, andererseits von Hochwassern betroffen sein. Im Landkreis Vorpommern-Greifswald liegen 82.350 ha Niedermoor, die zur Nutzung entwässert werden (und 17-38 Tonnen CO2 pro Hektar und Jahr emittieren), das sind ca. 30 % der landwirtschaftlichen Fläche. Die Entwässerung führt vorhandenes Wasser insbesondere im Winter und Frühjahr über die Vorflut aus der Landschaft ab und verstärkt damit die Auswirkungen von Trockenereignissen im Sommer.

Ziel des Projektes ist die Verminderung der landwirtschaftlichen und urbanen Vulnerabilität durch Wiedervernässung entwässerter Moore und die Umstellung auf eine standortangepasste Nutzung auf möglichst großer Fläche. Innerhalb des Vorhabens sollen Stadt-Land-Beziehungen zur Produktion von Biomasse in Paludikultur und deren Verwertung (energetisch: Wärme; stofflich: z.B. Dämmstoffe) aufgebaut und gefestigt werden. Dabei werden alle Akteure mit einbezogen, die einen Einfluss auf Nutzung und Wasserstand auf Niedermoorflächen und Biomasseverwertung haben.

Das IKEM hat für MORGEN eine juristische Studie zu aktuellen Hemmnissen und Weiterentwicklungsoptionen im Ordnungs- und Planungsrecht bzgl. der Umsetzung von Klimaanpassungs-und Klimaschutzmaßnahmen angefertigt. Der Fokus der Studie lag insbesondere auf der rechtlichen Betrachtung der Wechselwirkungen zwischen privaten Pachtvertragskonstellationen und dem öffentlichen Planungsrecht.

Publikationen