SUZANNA

SUZANNA explores how sufficient lifestyles can be more strongly integrated into successful climate protection.

SUZANNA

SUZANNA explores how sufficient lifestyles can be more strongly integrated into successful climate protection.

Project

In addition to technical innovations in the fields of the energy transition, there is considerable potential for climate action in the economical and thoughtful use of energy, raw materials and resources. The efficiency factor, that is, technological progress, is joined by the sufficiency factor, which focuses on lifestyles.

This is where the SUZANNA project comes in, departing from the observation that the social perception of sufficiency has changed in the recent past. Many are beginning to discover the positive sides of this concept: restrained and quality-conscious consumption, smaller but attractively and intelligently designed living environments, sharing instead of owning – this “light luggage”, as so fittingly put by the band Silbermond, gives shape to sustainable lifestyles.

SUZANNA deploys an analysis based on social sciences to establish how people feel about these ideas, and uses the results of that analysis to develop supply models for the energy industry and find the narratives of a positive sufficiency culture.

SUZANNA

SUZANNA ermittelt, wie suffiziente Lebensstile stärker in erfolgreichen Klimaschutz einbezogen werden können.

SUZANNA

SUZANNA ermittelt, wie suffiziente Lebensstile stärker in erfolgreichen Klimaschutz einbezogen werden können.

Projekt

Neben den technischen Innovationen in den Feldern der Energiewende liegen ganz erhebliche Potentiale für den Klimaschutz im sparsamen und durchdachten Umgang mit Energien, Rohstoffen und Ressourcen. Zum Faktor Effizienz, den Technologien, gesellt sich der Faktor Suffizienz, der Lebensstile in den Blick rückt.

Hier setzt das Projekt SUZANNA an und geht von der Beobachtung aus, dass sich die gesellschaftliche Wahrnehmung von Suffizienz in jüngerer Vergangenheit verändert hat. Viele beginnen ihre positiven Seiten zu entdecken: zurückhaltender und qualitätsbewusster Konsum, kleinere aber attraktiv und intelligent gestaltete Wohnumfelder, teilen statt besitzen – das „leichte Gepäck“, wie es etwa die Band Silbermond beschreibt, verleiht nachhaltigen Lebensstilen Kontur.

SUZANNA ermittelt durch eine sozialwissenschaftliche Analyse die diesbezüglichen Einstellungen der Bürger:innen. Darauf aufbauend entwickelt das Projekt Angebotsmodelle für die Energiewirtschaft und findet die Narrative einer positiven Suffizienzkultur.