Standardisation and certification of hydrogen transport infrastructure

Standardisation and certification of hydrogen transport infrastructure

Because hydrogen is a versatile energy carrier, it plays a central role in the energy transition. Hydrogen that is produced from renewable sources facilitates the decarbonisation of industry, transport, and the heating sector and is thus essential for sector coupling. Transport infrastructure that functions safely and efficiently is vital for the distribution and use of hydrogen in the various sectors.

 

TransHyDE is a flagship project initiated by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) to support the practical introduction of methods to transport, distribute and store hydrogen and other chemical energies. This requires the fulfilment of technical and regulatory preconditions as well as the establishment of uniform specifications in the form of norms, standards and certification programmes. The TransHyDE ‘Standardisation and Certification’ research consortium (German: Normung, Standardisierung und Zertifizierung) is investigating these aspects holistically in order to identify regulatory gaps and develop solutions. TransHyDE projects will operate in parallel to demonstrate the feasibility of four different transport technologies and will thus supply the practical results of the five TransHyDE research consortia.

 

Consortium

The BMBF is providing roughly €1.2 million to support the work of the six-member ‘Standardisation and Certification’ research consortium. Tasks and research areas are divided between members of the consortium. DVGW e. V. is responsible for overall coordination and for tasks related to grid-bound hydrogen transport. DVGW CERT GmbH heads the consortium’s research into certification issues related to grid-bound gas supply systems. The GWI oversees analyses of storage in pressure vessels. KIT ITES handles research into liquid hydrogen and serves as the point of contact for questions concerning port infrastructure and ship, road and rail transport. Inherent Solutions Consult (ISC) conducts research on ammonia-based hydrogen transport, while IKEM analyses the legal and regulatory questions relevant to the required processes.

 

Next steps

Most consortium initiatives began on 1 April 2021. The group will reach its first major milestone in March 2022, when it will complete an inventory of all existing norms, standards and bases for certification for the hydrogen transport options under investigation. This will be followed by a needs assessment to identify the requirements for creating, revising or expanding regulations, standards and certification methods. This step will include an extensive exchange with stakeholders, including authorities, associations, certification bodies and industry representatives.

 

Existing testing standards for TransHyDE demonstration projects will be reviewed and evaluated for applicability, with any necessary modifications identified in collaboration with stakeholders. This will make it possible to carry out a further step: the collection of data that can provide a sound basis for upcoming standardisation activities and for the development of testing requirements for certification programmes. The results will be presented in the form of a ‘standardisation and certification roadmap’, which will ultimately be translated into recommendations for action. This will facilitate the development of a work programme for the standardisation and regulatory work to be conducted in the short and medium term.

 

Contact

Ansprechpartner:in für Presseanfragen

IKEM – Institute for Climate Protection,
Energy and Mobility e.V.

Normung, Standardisierung und Zertifizierung der Wasserstoff-Transportinfrastruktur

Normung, Standardisierung und Zertifizierung der Wasserstoff-Transportinfrastruktur

Wasserstoff belegt als vielfältig einsetzbarer Energieträger in der Energiewende eine zentrale Rolle. Hergestellt auf Basis erneuerbarer Energien ermöglicht Wasserstoff die Dekarbonisierung der Industrie, des Verkehrs und des Wärmesektors und ist somit essenziell für die Sektorenkopplung. Voraussetzung für die Verteilung von Wasserstoff sowie für dessen Verwendung in den verschiedenen Sektoren ist eine effizient funktionierende und sichere Transportinfrastruktur.

Das vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) initiierte Leitprojekt TransHyDE strebt die praktische Einführung von Transport-, Verteil- und Speicheroptionen für Wasserstoff beziehungsweise andere chemische Energien an. Neben den technischen und regulatorischen Voraussetzungen bedarf dies einheitlicher Vorgaben in Form von Normen, Standards und Zertifizierungsprogrammen. Der TransHyDE-Forschungsverbund „Normung, Standardisierung und Zertifizierung“ untersucht diese Aspekte ganzheitlich, um so Regelungslücken aufzuzeigen und Lösungsansätze zu entwickeln. Parallel dazu sollen die TransHyDE-Projekte die Umsetzbarkeit vier verschiedener Transporttechnologien zeigen. Sie liefern damit die praktischen Ergebnisse der fünf TransHyDE-Forschungsverbünde.

Verbund

Der TransHyDE-Forschungsverbund „Normung, Standardisierung und Zertifizierung“ soll durch das BMBF insgesamt mit ca. 1,2 Mio. € gefördert werden und umfasst sechs Partner. Der DVGW e. V. übernimmt hier die Gesamtkoordination sowie die Themenverantwortung für den leitungsgebundenen Wasserstofftransport. Die DVGW CERT GmbH ist zuständig für Zertifizierungsfragen im Bereich der leitungsgebundenen Gasversorgung. Das GWI übernimmt die Themenverantwortung für die Speicherung in Druckbehältern. Daneben positioniert sich das KIT ITES im Themenfeld Flüssigwasserstoff und ist hierbei Ansprechpartner für Fragen zu Schiffs-, Straßen- und Schienentransport sowie für Hafen-Infrastrukturen. Während die ISC Forschungen zum ammoniakbasierten Wasserstofftransport betreibt, befasst sich das IKEM mit den rechtlichen und regulatorischen Fragestellungen der notwendigen Prozesse.

Nächste Schritte

Die Vorhaben im Verbund sind größtenteils zum 1. April 2021 gestartet. Als erster großer Meilenstein soll im März 2022 die Bestandsaufnahme aller existierender Normen, Standards und Zertifizierungsgrundlagen für die zu untersuchenden Wasserstoff-Transportoptionen fertiggestellt sein. Folgen wird eine Bedarfsanalyse, die die Anforderungen hinsichtlich der Erstellung, Überarbeitung beziehungsweise Erweiterung von Regelwerken, Normen und Zertifizierungsmethoden ableitet. Im Rahmen der Arbeiten findet ein umfangreicher Austausch mit den beteiligten Stakeholdern (zum Beispiel Behörden, Verbänden, Zertifizierern, Industrievertretern) statt.

Vorhandene Prüfnormen zu den Demonstrationsprojekten im Leitprojekt TransHyDE werden auf ihre Anwendbarkeit geprüft und evaluiert und Anpassungsbedarfe mit den Stakeholdern identifiziert. Dadurch wird es möglich sein, im nächsten Schritt eine solide Datengrundlage für die anstehenden Normierungsaktivitäten und für die Entwicklung von Prüfanforderungen für Zertifizierungsprogramme zu erarbeiten. Letztlich sind die Ergebnisse in einer Roadmap „Normung, Standardisierung, Zertifizierung“ in Handlungsempfehlungen zu überführen, die der Entwicklung eines Arbeitsprogramms der kurz- und mittelfristig anstehenden Normungs- und Regelwerksarbeiten dienen.

Kontakt

Ansprechpartner:in für Presseanfragen

IKEM – Institut für Klimaschutz,
Energie und Mobilität e.V.