OTS 1.0

Development of vehicle and roadside sensor systems for the autonomation of public transport

OTS 1.0

Development of vehicle and roadside sensor systems for the autonomation of public transport

Project

The project aims to develop an automated and electric vehicle for use in local public transport. The vehicle will drive in a designated test field as part of an operational demonstration in Munich Perlach. The unique feature of OTS 1.0 is the inclusion of information from permanently installed infrastructure for monitoring and evaluating the traffic situation (traffic telematics), including transmission to the vehicle (car-to-infrastructure). This approach promises additional safety in autonomous driving and a better flow of traffic compared to systems with only vehicle-based sensors. The aim of the project is to consider concrete approaches for future mobility concepts (infrastructure and vehicle) and their business models.

In OTS 1.0, IKEM is responsible for examining the political and legal framework and is involved in the development of business and operator models. One task is the presentation of legal implementation strategies in addition to the development of recommendations for action for a necessary adaptation of the legal framework for better integration of increasingly automated electric vehicles in urban traffic areas, for the construction and operation of the necessary telematics infrastructure and for strengthening and further developing public transport. In the first phase of the project, the identification of the legal and political hurdles for the establishment and implementation of the test operation is in the foreground. The practicability of operator and business models should also be ensured at an early stage by involving relevant actors.

Results

The final report was presented at the end of 2018. The findings from OTS 1.0 were incorporated into the follow-up project HEAT . There, an automated shuttle bus was tested for the first time in regular road traffic and as a means of public transport.

Publications

OTS 1.0

Entwicklung von fahrzeug- und straßenseitiger Sensorik für das autonome Fahren im ÖPNV

OTS 1.0

Entwicklung von fahrzeug- und straßenseitiger Sensorik für das autonome Fahren im ÖPNV

Projekt

Im Projekt wird ein automatisiertes und elektrisches Fahrzeug für den Personennahverkehr (Straße) entwickelt, das in einem designierten Testfeld im Rahmen einer Betriebsdemonstration in München Perlach fahren soll. Alleinstellungsmerkmal von OTS 1.0 ist die Einbeziehung von Informationen aus fest installierter Infrastruktur zur Beobachtung und Auswertung des Verkehrsgeschehens (Verkehrstelematik), inklusive Übermittlung an das Fahrzeug (Car-to-Infrastructure). Dieser Ansatz verspricht zusätzliche Sicherheit beim autonomen Fahren und einen besseren Verkehrsfluss im Vergleich zu Systemen mit ausschließlich fahrzeugseitiger Sensorik. Die Zielstellung des Projektes ist es, konkrete Ansätze für zukünftige Mobilitätskonzepte (Infrastruktur und Fahrzeug) und deren Geschäftsmodelle zu betrachten.

Das IKEM ist in OTS 1.0 für die Untersuchung der politischen und rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen zuständig sowie an der Entwicklung von Geschäfts- und Betreibermodellen beteiligt. Eine Aufgabe ist die Darstellung von rechtlichen Umsetzungsstrategien nebst der Erarbeitung von Handlungsempfehlungen für eine erforderliche Anpassung des Rechtsrahmens zur besseren Integration von zunehmend automatisierten Elektrofahrzeugen in urbane Verkehrsräume, zum Aufbau und Betrieb der erforderlichen verkehrstelematischen Infrastruktur und zur Stärkung und  Fortentwicklung des ÖPNV. In der ersten Phase des Projektes steht außerdem die Identifikation der rechtlich-politischen Hürden für die Einrichtung und Durchführung des Testbetriebs im Vordergrund. Auch die Praxistauglichkeit von Betreiber- und Geschäftsmodellen soll durch Einbeziehung relevanter Akteure frühzeitig gesichert werden.

Ergebnisse

Der Abschlussbericht wurde Ende 2018 vorgelegt. Die Erkenntnisse aus OTS 1.0 flossen in das Folgeprojekt HEAT ein. Dort wurde ein automatisierter Shuttlebus erstmals im regulären Straßenverkehr und als öffentliches Transportmittel erprobt.

Publikationen